You understand why it’s important to use insurance coverage as a safety net for every possible scenario. But when was the last time you took a close look at your vehicle policy? Does it provide thorough coverage for all contingencies, including accidents with uninsured or underinsured motorists?
In the guide below, we discuss insurance coverage guidelines in Tennessee and what to do if you're involved in an accident when uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is concerned.
Tennessee Insurance Coverage Guidelines
Tennessee has a fault-based insurance system. This means after an accident, victims have a right to recover economic and non-economic injury and property damages from the at-fault motorist’s insurance company. According to the Tennessee Department of Revenue, all drivers must have the following minimum limits of liability car insurance coverage:
- $25,000 for each injury or death per accident
- $50,000 for total injuries or deaths per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
But if the at-fault motorist has inadequate insurance coverage—or is completely uninsured—securing compensation for an accident you didn’t cause is a challenge.
- An uninsured motorist (UM) doesn’t have insurance coverage, so you’re unlikely to recover damages from them directly.
- An underinsured motorist (UIM) has insurance, but their coverage limits are insufficient to provide compensation for the full extent of the damages resulting from an accident. Even if their policy adheres to the coverage guidelines above, it still might not be enough to provide a settlement for extensive medical costs, property damage, follow-up treatments, lost wages, and other financial obligations associated with the accident.
Some insurance policies offer uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to help protect you and your family in both scenarios. It pays for medical expenses, property damage, and other losses if you're involved in an accident with a negligent driver without insurance or sufficient coverage.
They May Not Have Enough Insurance, But You Can
At Pete Olson Injury Law, we’ve seen firsthand how unexpected car accidents shake a family's physical, emotional, and financial foundation. A $25,000 or $50,000 policy limit simply won’t be enough in severe cases.
This is why opting for higher automobile insurance limits is so crucial—especially if your policy offers UI/UIM coverage. While the premiums are higher, too, you simply need to ask yourself one question: if you or your children were seriously injured in a car crash, would your current policy provide adequate coverage for a lifetime of care? If not, it may be time to make the change.
Contact Our Clarksville Injury Lawyer for More Information
There is no sense in going at this on your own, especially when an experienced injury attorney in Clarksville, TN, can help steer you in the right direction.
Click the button above or give us a call at 1-877-GETPETE to schedule a consultation today!